h1

Bond… MAGPYE Bond…

August 17, 2012

So I was looking over my blog today and took notice of the photo I have as my ‘avatar’; it’s a very silly photo that has humorous meaning to me, but I look at it and I wonder what other people think about this bleach-blonde 80’s hairdo in the tuxedo and Elvis glasses acting like the coolest cat on the planet.

That picture was taken on the day of my Senior Prom. Now, anyone who knows me will tell you I am certainly a woman but I ain’t never been no girly-girl, so when it came down to being asked to Prom my one condition was that my date be okay with me wearing a tux. Fortunately at 18, I was still skinny and cute (oh, the salad days of my youth) and I could pull it off without it being ‘weird’.

I told my mom I wanted to wear a tux to my Prom. Needless to say she wasn’t totally behind the idea, but she had always lectured me on not trying to be like everyone else, so I kinda had her behind the eight ball on that one, what could she do?

I’ll tell you what she did: She took me to the rental shop, got my tux all ordered and paid for, and waited until she and my dad were on a plane to Florida before she told him what I was wearing.

So the day came and I was so excited about my dove grey tux with coattails, complete with purple cummerbund and bow tie, I just had to try it on and have my friend snap a few pictures. Now I ask you – WHO’S a ham? Yes, that’s my ‘Hey toots, lookin’ good’ smirk, goofing around and schmoozing – the lens used to love me, I tell you. Back when all of me could fit in it, anyway…

So I went to my Prom, and I was the only girl there in a tux, and yeah, I looked totally cool.

And my date? Two years later, I married him.

That’s okay though… at least the Prom was fun.

One comment

  1. hahaha…….such good memories. I wonder if girls do that anymore. Wear tux’s to prom that is. I always thought my females friends who did it looked amazing! Smart girls if you ask me.



Leave a comment

Baigneur de Fôret

~savour the wilderness~

ec·cen·tric

conspicuously & grossly unconventional or unusual

strangedavid

Blogging is cheaper than therapy.

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Good2begone

I'm not really here.

Doodhi Says...

Oh Shit! Did you read what I just wrote!

Dear Ms. Migraine

A day in the life..... Disclaimer: This site is not meant for medical, nutritional or legal advise.

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Serendipity

"Look for something, find something else, and realize that what you've found is more suited to your needs than what you were looking for." -Lawrence Block

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.